Great recipes to share??

Talk about anything. Just keep it civil.
kymm

Great recipes to share??

Post by kymm » Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:15 pm

Does anyone have any great recipes to share? doesn’t have to be low fat… thought it would be fun to share.
I was a chef and pastry cook for 10 years
So if you have any cooking questions let me know too!!!

Here is a great salad recipe for you all to try: :D

THE WARM NAPA CABBAGE SALAD
This recipe makes 4 entrée-sized servings or 6 – 8 starter salads

Ingredients:
  • 2 cups homemade croutons (store purchased works fine as well) 1 stick butter 1 tbsp of olive oil 1 tbsp of chopped fresh garlic 1/3 cup red wine vinegar 1 tbsp chopped shallots ½ tsp freshly cracked pepper 1 tbsp whole grain mustard 1 cup of canola oil 10 slices of your favorite bacon 2 tbsp of reserved bacon fat 1 pound of medium-sized mushrooms (Button or Crimini) 5 ounces of your favorite blue cheese 1 head of Napa cabbage (approximately the size of a football)
Read the recipe thoroughly. Room Temp Cabbage works the best. Don’t let the blue cheese melt completely. After the dressing is poured over the cabbage, work fast!!! or it will wilt Have warm plates (not hot) ready to go. Preparing the salad:

Make some sourdough croutons by cutting the bread into a one-inch dice (makes about 2 cups). To make the croutons, Melt 1 stick butter with 1 tbsp olive oil in a pan. When melted, add 1 tbsp chopped fresh garlic and remove from heat. Let set for 5 minutes. Pour the butter mixture through a strainer over the croutons, toss well, and place the croutons on a pan in a 375 oven until golden brown. About 15 minutes. Watch them like a hawk, or they may burn.

Make a simple Red Wine Vinaigrette: In a blender, pour 1/3 cup red wine vinegar, 1 tbsp chopped shallots, ½ tsp freshly cracked pepper, 1 tbsp whole grain mustard. Turn on the blender and slowly add 1 cup of canola oil. You will probably only need ½ of this dressing.