Rock Bottom: Am I Ready?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

lookingup

Rock Bottom: Am I Ready?

Post by lookingup » Wed Jul 09, 2014 1:47 pm

Hey Everyone:

A little about me: I'm 31 years old, male. When I graduated from college in 2005, I was fit and trim. 6'1", 175 lbs. I looked and felt great. After graduation, I entered the workforce, stopped walking, started driving, snacking, overeating, etc. My new "normal" weight tended to be 205, but in the past six months I've put on another 10 (stress of my wife having a tough pregnancy, our third and fourth children were born in mid-June). My doctor told me I'm beginning to move from "overweight" to "obese." My blood pressure and cholesterol are out of whack, and I feel awful.

Since my boys were born, I'm getting 4-5 hours of sleep a night, and I'm hungry and cranky all the time. There is definitely an emotional component to my eating (eating when tired or stressed), but then guilt sets in.

I successfully did No S in 2009 and dropped from 205 to 185 lbs, felt and looked great. I think it's time to do it again.

Here is my question: considering my stress level, lack of sleep, trying to juggle family, job, other responsibilities, do you have any specific pointers for someone in my situation? I really want this to work. I feel like it's not just for me this time, but for my family. They need me to be at my healthiest so I can provide and be there for the memory-making moments.

Thanks,
lookingup

ironchef

Re: Rock Bottom: Am I Ready?

Post by ironchef » Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:15 pm