A summer of learning

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

TeacherJ

A summer of learning

Post by TeacherJ » Sun Jul 25, 2021 4:11 pm

Hello
I am a teacher who has found some balance with eating this summer. Normally, I work in the summer, but this year I decided to take time for me. I was really stressed this past school year due to the COVID issues. I have been overweight for about 15 years, and this year I decided to do something about it. Once school was over, I started reading about weight loss. I knew that my biggest problem was sweets and starchy junk food. That led me to a low carb diet. That killed the cravings, but I wasn't losing weight. I was still eating too much because I was snacking on high calorie foods. That led me to calorie counting. I can't do it! My brain doesn't enjoy that at all. I knew I needed a way to limit my food intake. I asked Mr. Google about no snacking diets and I found two blogs about the No S diet. https://chroniclesofkyle.com/ and https://nosdiet.blogspot.com/

I LOVE the idea of tracking habits. I made a habit tracker on my computer in Excel. I use the red, yellow, green system. I cut the snacking two weeks ago and it hasn't been bad at all. I hope this will give me the weight loss I desire. I still eat a low to moderate carb intake (not Keto). I increased my protein, which has been super helpful. I make dishes lower in fat when I can, but I don't sweat it if I can't. I have been enjoying my meals. I have more energy. The first week of summer break I averaged about 2,000 steps. Now I average about 5,000 steps per day. I have started doing some short exercise videos as well.