Please--some advice needed

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Betty

Please--some advice needed

Post by Betty » Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:59 am

Hi There,

I started following No S in June and was pretty much on board in the summer, enough to lose a little weight and feel more in control about my eating. But when summer vacation ended (I'm a teacher) I found it really hard to stick to the plan and fell off completely--until now, I hope.

Let me explain why No S is hard for me and then if anyone has advice I would love to hear it:

So, no seconds isn't a problem for me, and no sugar (after a few days without) is also pretty easy. The problem is snacking. There is more than one reason for this.

First of all, I have always snacked, so it's a really well-ingrained habit.

Secondly, I've been on the 5 meals a day plan for years because if I don't eat snacks I sometimes "crash," getting light headed and faint. No sugar helps with this, but not always enough to go 6-7 hours between meals.

Thirdly, my schedule at work is kind of strange. I eat breakfast at 6:30 and lunch is at 1:30. It's just plain *hard* to go that long without eating.

And finally (and perhaps most perniciously) I eat for comfort. For me, in my busy day, eating is a moment of rest, of transition from one hard moment to the next. I eat when I'm bored, too. I eat when I feel angry or out of control. You can see where I'm going with this.

I really, really want to make No S work but I find that I need support to do so. Can anyone help me with any of this?

Betty

bonnieUK

Re: Please--some advice needed

Post by bonnieUK » Tue Nov 06, 2007 11:42 am

Hi Betty,

I'm still fairly new to No S so can't claim to be an expert, but here are my thoughts: