Struggling--help!

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

xJocelynx87

Struggling--help!

Post by xJocelynx87 » Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:45 pm

I have been doing No-S on and off for a few months, but recently decided that I am in it for the long haul, and I've begun my second week. However, my willpower is fading. I think it has to do with the fact that I did not really enjoy my S days---instead of eating what would truly satisfy my cravings, I just ate whatever because I could. I feel the urge to snack on junk food right now, but I know afterwards I won't be happy. For those of you that have adpoted the lifestyle, how long before it became second nature? And how do you structure your S days so that you get the most out of them?

Thanks in advance for the support everyone!

kccc

Post by kccc » Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:43 am

Some days are harder than others. Accept that, and remind yourself that you are "habit -building." (Reinhard's podcast on "strictness" is a great one for times like this.)

Stick with the letter-of-the-law, but (important!) put enough on your "one-plate" to feel satisfied and happy. "Enough" may mean a big stack, or it may be the foods you particularly love. Don't worry about weight loss at first - the habits are most important.

And plan a really good treat for the next S-day. That really helps me.

Also, you may want to look at the rest of your life. I had an out-of-control weekend because things are stressful at the moment, and this week has been harder than normal as well. So I'm looking for other things I can do to lower stress, BESIDES eating. On the weekend, I caught myself eating so I wouldn't have to figure out what to do next. When I realized that, I tried to either do the task I was dreading or consciously decide NOT to do it and move on to something else.