Super hard time in the evenings

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Sinnie

Post by Sinnie » Fri Feb 22, 2008 5:33 pm

Okay, I need help.

I literally need to re-start No S as though I've never done it before. I've altered the rules so much I'm having a hard time doing it right. There is so much information out there, with this habitcal and gold stars and stuff. Can you give some advice as to your No S best practices? It would be so very much appreciated.

I have a huge tendency to binge. I usually tell myself that I will start over the next day. It never happens. I'm afraid of putting on a lot of weight, as I've already started to. It really depresses me.

I find my weakness, like many people, is at night. After dinner I'm usually pretty bored and I hate to end dinner. So I'll go for a piece of bread with peanut butter after my plate of food. And I keep going. When I stop I tell myself no more for the evening, but that doesn't work. What do you guys do in the evenings to stop yourselves from eating?

Thanks so much for your input.

kccc

Post by kccc » Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:25 pm

That was a very hard place for me too... I used to literally eat all evening! And when I lapse, that's still a point to watch.

Strategies that worked for me:
1) I have a "special drink" to signal the end of the meal. Hot tea, or a glass of wine. After that, dinner is OVER.
2) Addressing "root cause." I realized that part of why I was eating was because I was tired and trying to avoid the next set of tasks (cleaning kitchen, making lunches for the next day... the whole evening routine). I developed several strategies for that - asking for help from my husband (which he was happy to give), listening to something fun while I cleaned, etc.