New and looking for advice on two topics

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

variance

New and looking for advice on two topics

Post by variance » Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:03 pm

Hi,

I'm on my third week of No S and am liking it so far, but I wanted to take some time to reflect adn get some advice on how things are going since I'll hit my first 21 days soon.

I started No S because I was sick of counting calories and wanted to adopt a healthier relationship with food. I'm not technically overweight (5'4", about 120lbs), but I have about 10/15 vanity lbs I wouldn't mind vanishing. I'm pretty active- I run 40-50mpw, plus some cross training- so I've got the exercise thing down, but I'm having two issues with No S that I hope you can help me with.

1. Before No S, I used to eat 4 meals a day (6, noon, 4, and 7:30) and the 4pm habit monster is still alive and well to tempt me then. So every day at 4pm I've been having a caloric drink- a glass of milk or OJ- to help get through to 7:30. I know that's technically allowed, but I feel like I'm sawpping one bad habit (eating at 4pm) for another (drinking at 4pm). However, if I don't have something, I'm extremely crabby and have low blood sugar by 7:30. Is this just something I have to deal with until the habit forms?