I have a question

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

wosnes

I have a question

Post by wosnes » Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:16 pm

I asked this same question in another post, but I think it might get lost without being answered:
nfalcone wrote:the scale said I was 146, but I didn't freak out because I drink a lot less water on the weekends. I knew it was probably just a little dehydration. I go from 8 water bottles a day to only about 2 cups.. so, going by the scale is tricky.
What is the rationale behind the idea that you weigh more when dehydrated and less when well-hydrated? I'm a nurse and I've never heard of this.

As I read various posts I'm consistently amazed by how much misinformation is out there, not only about nutrition in general, but also by how the body utlizes the nutrients.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

"You are what you eat -- so don't be Fast, Easy, Cheap or Fake."

sassy

Post by sassy » Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:24 pm

I agree!!

My kids have shown fair animals for years and with that I've learned that a gallon of water weighs 8 pounds and that taking a pig off of water can make them drop a lot of weight.

So.....dehydration = weight loss not weight gain

Nicola

Post by Nicola » Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:25 pm

The rationale behind this is: If the body thinks it's not going to get enough fluid it holds onto what it has. So if you drink plenty of water then your body will freely release it. If you don't drink much, you retain it. Is it true or not? I don't know- but this is the reasoning I've always heard.

Nichole

Post by Nichole » Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:35 pm