Chocolate milk?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

orangemeg

Chocolate milk?

Post by orangemeg » Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:27 pm

Is this considered a sweet? It can't be as bad to drink as soda...right?

I don't drink it often. But I kind of want some today.

(Four days green so far. Hooray!)

sophiasapientia

Post by sophiasapientia » Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:53 pm

Congrats on your 4 green days! That's great! :D ...

I'm a newbie too and am interested in what the resident experts say about this. My first thought is that anything chocolate, including chocolate milk, would be considered a sweet, although it certainly has more redeeming qualities than soda. (Chocolate is my major weakness so I'm making it an S-day choice.)
Restarted No S (3rd times a charm!) January 2010 at 145 lbs

Anne

Post by Anne » Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:14 pm

Hi, I have been wondering the same thing. Actually, I think the book mentions something about being allowed to use pure unsweetened cocoa... but I can't remember what it said exactly. :oops:

orangemeg

Post by orangemeg » Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:17 pm

I sort of remember the mention of unsweetened cocoa. But, as a child, I made the unfortunate mistake of sneaking some cocoa powder thinking it would taste good.

It didn't! Worst thing ever. That is how I learned what "bitter" meant.

If I have to make my chocolate milk with that, I will just not make it. Blech.

NoelFigart

Post by NoelFigart » Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:34 pm

I think Reinhard's book makes mention of an old Aztec chocolate recipe and mentioned it'd be legal:

http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/recs/6 ... 0761.shtml

1 ounce unsweetened baking chocolate
1 teaspoon vanilla
2/3 cup boiling water
ground pepper of chilies to taste
Turn this recipe into a puzzle! [click]

Directions: