My plate is 11 inches... newbie here

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

shelly_k

My plate is 11 inches... newbie here

Post by shelly_k » Sun Aug 16, 2009 2:09 am

Hi everyone! I'm just starting -- Day 3. So far I really like this way of eating! It sure doesn't seem like I will lose weight, though, b/c I am not really hungry. I don't miss the snacks or sweets. Maybe I'm eating too much at meals?

Anyway, my regular dinner plates are 11 inches! I know -- big! Should I still use these? My smaller plates are 8 1/2 inches. What do you think?
Shelly

Age 40
Started Dec 6, 2014
Start Weight: 173.8
Start BMI: 26.3
Goal Weight: 155
Vanilla NoS

Start: 173.8
Week 1: 172.8
Week 2: 172.8
Week 3: 170.6

Bushranger

Post by Bushranger » Sun Aug 16, 2009 3:59 am

Use whatever seems suitable. You will be able to tell with your own eyes if your servings are gluttonous much better than we can over the internet. Trust your mind, if you are honestly at ease with your portions stick with them, but if you have a niggling thought "hey that's a lot of food" I'd look at cutting back. However, I would not focus on the portion sizes as much as just getting the 3 meals and no S's drilled into your head at the moment. They are by far the most important habits to solidify in the beginning. The beauty of No S is that it’s very relaxed in general but its rules are specific enough to bring about powerful changes.

Oh, welcome aboard too. :)

harmony

Post by harmony » Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:56 am

I use both 10 inch plates and 8 1/2 inch plates. I use the 8 1/2 inch plates most of the time, but sometimes get out the big ones if I want to squeeze a salad on there. When I use the smaller plates there is little plate to be seen. :) But that is just how I was used to eating before I even knew about No-S.