Newbie with a sore knee

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

stoogeswoman

Newbie with a sore knee

Post by stoogeswoman » Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:30 pm

:cry: Hi everyone - I'm a newbie!

My name is Christine aka "stoogeswoman". I live in Southern California and I just recently discovered Shovelglove, Urban Ranger and the No S Diet.

I love them! All these ideas just seem like common sense, don't they? Yet when it comes to diet and exercise, there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of common sense out there! I'm a sometimes-Weight Watchers member and their program is pretty good as far as nutritional info goes. But yours seems pretty straightforward too - and a lot cheaper! ;-)

I work in downtown L.A. and I guess you could say I'm already doing the Urban Ranger thing: last year I rearranged my morning schedule so I could get off the subway one stop earlier and walk from there to my office. It takes about 20-30 minutes, has a lot of variables (like taking different streets, walking through different buildings, etc.), and it's something I really look forward to now!

Unfortunately, this morning I had a snag. I was about to leave the house when OWWW!! :shock: some renegade piece of cartilage tore off and lodged itself in my kneecap area! I've had it propped up on a pillow, and also popped some ibuprofen. That helps, but basically I can't bend my left leg back more than an inch or so without experiencing pain.

Which means no walking today. Argh! I was able to go outside a little while ago and do some upper body stuff, which made me feel a little less stir-crazy. But I still want to WALK dagnab it! :x

Anyway, I'm so glad I found this site, because reading all these threads and blogs takes my mind off my situation, temporarily anyway! Thanks! :D

Kevin

Re: Newbie with a sore knee