how much to eat at a meal

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

artmama

how much to eat at a meal

Post by artmama » Thu Jul 22, 2010 6:20 am

I am new to this, but I had already gone a week without between meal snacking before I started(then found this site by googlng "no snacks"). I am finding it difficult to decide how much to eat, I get "satisfied" at one sitting by not very much food but if I stop at that point I actually am hungry within a short amount of time. I think this comes from years and years of trying to eat less but more often etc.
I now find myself eating until I am full,( not stuffed), because I want to be able to have enough to get through the 5 or so hours until the next meal. I think if I just stop at the first sign of fullness or feeling the food in my stomach, I will be hungry long before I get to eat again. So I am wondering what sort of sign I should look for to stop... by the way, I have only 5-qo pounds to lose, just want to fit comfortably into my clothes again and this little bit of weight really shows on me becasue I am small.

So do I disregard all the old messages about stopping before I am full? How do you define full? Also, has anyone lost just a little bit doing this system?

bluebunny27

Post by bluebunny27 » Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:56 am

Yes, that's something that can be tricky ... you should never really eat until you feel completely full - - you should eat until you are about 70% full, hard to evaluate this of course. I know by now how much food I should have, I just look at the plate and I know ... of course this is not a very precise system, just ball parking it but I must not be too far off since I've been maintaining pretty well.

Now, I just have a reasonable portion and no seconds ...