What's a Fail?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Alexandra

What's a Fail?

Post by Alexandra » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:12 pm

I am fairly new to the No S life and I have a question about counting failures. On Monday night I had a normal plate of food, but had about 4 sips of root beer from my son's glass (there was nothing else around and I was dying of thirst). Strictly speaking it is a fail -- but I was tempted not to count it, because the sugar content was no more than the small spoonful of sugar I put in my tea every day. Your thoughts?

Kevin

Re: What's a Fail?

Post by Kevin » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:46 pm

That's a tough question.

I wouldn't call it a fail if, as a new NoS'er, I reflexively grabbed something that was set for others to snack on - but once I realized I was doing it, If I kept doing it, it's a fail.

I guess the question you want to ask yourself is was there really nothing else around? Water? If not, then don't call it a fail. If you could have walked to the sink and gotten a glass of water, then maybe be a little tougher on yourself about it.

Ultimately, it's your call, really. But the plan does work better if you are strict with yourself at the beginning.
Alexandra wrote:I am fairly new to the No S life and I have a question about counting failures. On Monday night I had a normal plate of food, but had about 4 sips of root beer from my son's glass (there was nothing else around and I was dying of thirst). Strictly speaking it is a fail -- but I was tempted not to count it, because the sugar content was no more than the small spoonful of sugar I put in my tea every day. Your thoughts?
Kevin
1/13/2011-189# :: 4/21/2011-177# :: Goal-165#
"Respecting the 4th S: sometimes."

ThomsonsPier

Post by ThomsonsPier » Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:48 pm