Question about granola bars

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Tink117

Question about granola bars

Post by Tink117 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:29 am

So I'm sure you've seen the NUMEROUS different types of granola and cereal bars out there. I was wondering this morning when I saw a cereal bar I had that has chocolate over it, would this be allowed for N days? I also have Fiber one brownies that I am thinking are a no go because they are .. well.. brownies! I'm wondering if the granola bars with chocolate bottoms or drizzle would be ok or are they considered sweets? Thanks in advance! I'm a total newbie =P This is my day 2 :)

Blithe Morning

Post by Blithe Morning » Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:43 am

They are sweets in my book, despite their desperate attempt to appear otherwise. Just because it has oats in it doesn't mean that it's a proper breakfast food.

If you want the health benefits of granola, eat granola. Essentially, granola is a variation on oatmeal. It's oats, nuts, fruit and some sugar (honey and/or brown sugar) and fat (oil or butter, I've seen both). Even the most organic granola is still very caloric.

veggirl1964

Post by veggirl1964 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 1:52 am

I agree - I count granola bars as a sweet. My husband used to get the Fiber One Bars with the chocolate chips, and they tasted as sweet as a candy bar to me. He stopped buying them when he started NoSing.

oolala53

Post by oolala53 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:11 am