Anyone a type 1 diabetic? or maybe type 2?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Tink117

Anyone a type 1 diabetic? or maybe type 2?

Post by Tink117 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 1:59 am

I am a type 1 diabetic and I'm on an insulin pump. After 10 days of NoSing, I've have 2 lows which ended up with my eating sugar to raise my blood sugar ( of course both happened on N days). I was wondering if there was anyone out there who was also a type 1 and could share how they deal with lows? I know sometimes type 2s experience lows as well... You can care to chime in as well. I am still very new to this new life style and I would appreciate advice/feedback from anyone who has experience with lows and N days. Thank you :)

Blithe Morning

Post by Blithe Morning » Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:41 pm

I'm not a diabetic but it goes without saying that managing your blood sugar comes first. If you need to eat a snack or a sweet then do it. Sickness is an S so it's not a fail.

determined

Post by determined » Sat Nov 12, 2011 2:11 pm

Tink...I'm not a diabetic either, but I agree with Blithe that managing your blood sugar comes first. I certainly wouldn't think you've "failed" if you have to deal with that.

Would planning for a small snack help maintain your levels? I'm not educated on this at all, but I'm just wondering if a planned snack would be better than having your sugar level plummet and then giving you the false impression that you've somehow failed. Anyway, that's just a thought. Perhaps someone will chime in with more information...

janie
Last edited by determined on Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day."
Winnie the Pooh

~hf

Post by ~hf » Sat Nov 12, 2011 4:31 pm