weighing daily a little scary

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Goodcooker

weighing daily a little scary

Post by Goodcooker » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:05 am

Yesterday i weighed 164. This morning it says 166! What the??? I know it even spoke of this in the book. Could be water retention as well. I still don't like it though. Think I will go back to the one weighing per week. In my mind though I am thinking "if I gained 2 pounds overnight how do I dare eat a sweet or snack this weekend?" Oh and by the way..I got a little cocky with the shovelglove yesterday. I did 14 min in the morning. And then 14 min in the afternoon. I can barely lift my arms today!!!! And I do hair for a living! :shock: I can be such a dummy sometimes. :)
One of the things I learned the hard way was that it doesn't pay to get discouraged. Keeping busy and making optimism a way of life can restore your faith in yourself.
-Lucille Ball

Blithe Morning

Post by Blithe Morning » Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:41 pm

IF you weigh daily, you absolutely have to be committed to viewing your weight as a data point on a long term trend line rather than short term success or failure.

If you can't say "Oh, this is interesting" to an uptick in weight and then forget about it, my recommendation is you don't weigh daily or even weekly.

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:13 pm

Weight fluctuations like that are absolutely normal and most likely is water retention. I'm not a fan of daily or weekly weighing.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

"You are what you eat -- so don't be Fast, Easy, Cheap or Fake."

TexArk

Post by TexArk » Fri Jan 25, 2013 1:34 pm