Does raw vegetable count as a snack?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

May

Does raw vegetable count as a snack?

Post by May » Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:57 pm

Hi. I'm new to NoS. Had 3 days of success but today at 4:30pm I had some slices of cucumbers and bell peppers and 1/2 cup of milk. Would that count as a snack? I don't have dinner until 7pm and felt so hungry around 4-5pm.

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Fri Jun 28, 2013 3:12 pm

The milk is okay, but the cucumbers and peppers count as a snack.

A quick rule of thumb is that if you chew it, it's a snack. Milk, coffee, tea, juices and any other beverage that's not overly sweet is okay between meals. Smoothies generally aren't okay because they include chewable foods that are blended.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

"You are what you eat -- so don't be Fast, Easy, Cheap or Fake."

gratefuldeb67

Post by gratefuldeb67 » Fri Jun 28, 2013 5:21 pm

if you really need some food in the mid afternoon, like that little veggie snack and milk, then have it... just don't randomly snack all day... many people include a very small fourth meal, instead of having three... the key is not to graze and mindlessly snack whenever you have the impulse to...
good luck and congrats on your good start! :)
There is no Wisdom greater than Kindness

May

Post by May » Sat Jun 29, 2013 8:29 am

Thanks for clarifying! I'll try to deal without the mid-afternoon snack but if I am really desperate, I will stick to milk.