Hello - introduction

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Coffeegal

Hello - introduction

Post by Coffeegal » Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:04 pm

I'm a newbie to the forum, but not so much to the diet as I'm in my 11th week of vanilla No-S. Dh prefers IF, but he's decided the family could use a few No-S style changes as well. We stopped allowing the children to bake cookies, brownies, or other treats during the week. It certainly helps me avoid sugar! :lol: The only child who regularly snacks is our active 15yo son. He periodically raids the kitchen, lol. I'll give the younger children a glass of milk if they get hungry in the afternoon. That's usually enough to keep them happy.

While I haven't lost as much weight as I hoped, it's amazing how much better I feel during the week. I used to have a problem with low-blood sugar and worried No-S would aggravate it. Instead it solved the issue. Weight loss issues aside, I have no intention of doing any other diet now. :D

My biggest issues are the weekends as I tend to binge, and a terror that if I slip up I'll go back to my old habits. The terror is keeping me strict with the diet though. :wink: How long does it take for the weekend binging to come under control? I'm not desperate for sweets on Friday like I was at the beginning, but Saturdays are still.... horrible.

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:27 pm

Welcome and congratulations on your weight loss!

How long it takes to get S days under control varies widely. In some cases it's a year or more. I wouldn't worry about it. The big challenge is getting the habits down on N days.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson