"No seconds" rule interpretation

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Imogen Morley

"No seconds" rule interpretation

Post by Imogen Morley » Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:16 am

Something that struck me just yesterday, when I was reaching over and over again for yet another piece of cake... Why not employ that rule at all times?
I always overdo on sweets when I'm attending parties or other celebratory events where multiple, pre-cut slices of cake are served. I'm also an avid baker, and trying out new recipes is my hobby. Although much of what I bake is distributed among family/coworkers/neighbours, I'm still able to polish off 1/4 of the brownie pan in one sitting. So what if I apply "no seconds" rule to everything I eat, including desserts, all the time? That would mean having a cup of Earl Grey and a piece of cake/serving of ice cream after one of my meals, eating with gusto, and stopping at that. Or at least waiting until the next meal to have some more. Eating three servings of dessert is much better than having six or eight, so I'm aiming at progress, not perfection. I hope I can make that a habit!
What are your interpretations of "no seconds"?

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:34 am

My interpretation of "no seconds" was just that -- one serving of whatever was being served. By the time I realized that my interpretation was different from Reinhard's intention, what I was doing was working and I couldn't see a reason to change it.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

"You are what you eat -- so don't be Fast, Easy, Cheap or Fake."

noni

Post by noni » Fri Aug 16, 2013 1:26 pm