college student cafeteria constraints

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

banantail

college student cafeteria constraints

Post by banantail » Wed Oct 02, 2013 7:59 am

i'm super interested in this whole no s diet idea. i think it's brilliant and i intend to start it first thing in the morning.

here is thing i'm having an issue with: i'm a college student. i live on campus. i eat nearly all of my meals at the cafeteria. and at the cafeteria, rather than being an all-you-can-eat buffet, most things are sold via a point system. so they have a hot food bar which has different entrees which are sold for set points, and everything from there is dished up for you on one plate. then there's the salad bar and the fruit bar, both of which are sold by weight. so they have to be dished up on a separate plate in order to weigh them at checkout.

obviously, i'm going to have to resort to a whole lot of "virtual plating". i wish there was a way around it, but there's just no way for me to truly follow the one-plate rule as long as i'm eating in the cafeteria and i want to eat fruits and veggies. so i'm asking for advice, i guess. is there anyone else who has been caught in a similar situation? especially during the initial difficult part of habit-forming?

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:00 am

I haven't been in a similar situation, but when I started No-S, I completely missed the one-plate rule and interpreted "No-seconds" to mean just that -- no second servings of anything.

I wouldn't worry too much about it and just choose reasonably sized servings of food.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson