Shovelgirls? Or is it a guy thing?

Take a sledgehammer and wrap an old sweater around it. This is your "shovelglove." Every week day morning, set a timer for 14 minutes. Use the shovelglove to perform shoveling, butter churning, and wood chopping motions until the timer goes off. Stop. Rest on weekends and holidays. Baffled? Intrigued? Charmed? Discuss here.
Mounted Ranger!

Shovelgirls? Or is it a guy thing?

Post by Mounted Ranger! » Tue Jul 07, 2009 7:47 pm

just curious.
Mounted Ranger!
No S-ing, Ranging, and Shovelgloving since 7/7/09

sophiasapientia

Post by sophiasapientia » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:01 pm

Welcome Rebecca! I believe there are a number of "Shovelgirls" out there. I'm pretty new to Shovelglove myself. This is my 4th week but I really enjoy it and can see definite tone. (I use an 8lb sledgehammer.) :D
Restarted No S (3rd times a charm!) January 2010 at 145 lbs

ams09

Post by ams09 » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:08 pm

Shannon, do you mind telling what your routine is? I'm not really sure where to start. I already have a simple dumbbell routine but it takes me 20-30 minutes. The 14-minute shovelglove routine is very intriguing. I don't have much time after work (that I'm willing to give to a set amount of exercises) but I would like something that is still weight-bearing and tones and strengthens.

Thanks!

sophiasapientia

Post by sophiasapientia » Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:20 pm

Hi Ams09 -- I'm doing a very, very basic routine to start. I plan on trying other movements later on. I do chop the wood, churn the butter, shovel the snow and flip the lever. For the first few sessions, I did reps of 7. Now I'm doing reps of 30 and then start all over again until the timer goes off. Normally I get through 2 complete sets plus a third set of chop the wood, sometimes a bit more. The 14 minutes is great because I can sneak it in while my daughter is playing and do my cardio before she wakes up in the morning.
Restarted No S (3rd times a charm!) January 2010 at 145 lbs