Gaining weight on No S Diet and Shovelglove ?

Take a sledgehammer and wrap an old sweater around it. This is your "shovelglove." Every week day morning, set a timer for 14 minutes. Use the shovelglove to perform shoveling, butter churning, and wood chopping motions until the timer goes off. Stop. Rest on weekends and holidays. Baffled? Intrigued? Charmed? Discuss here.
holymadness83

Gaining weight on No S Diet and Shovelglove ?

Post by holymadness83 » Mon Jul 27, 2009 7:16 pm

Hello,

I'm a long-time hammer trainer. About two years ago, I bought a 20 lb sledge and got a huge tire to beat with it. When I discovered Shovelglove two weeks ago, it seemed a good extension of my existing workout.

I've done shovelglove for two weeks now, and I think I've put on 3-5 pounds. I've been coupling this with No S (didn't know which forum to post under really).

The first thing I noticed is that Shovelglove has been an EXCELLENT toning exercise with a 20lb hammer. I'm quite sore by the end of the week, if not after the 2nd day. My heart rate gets moderately elevated, and my breathing increases, but I wouldn't say I was breathing hard after 14 minutes are over.

I was expecting to lose a few after this time. Is it possible that doing shovelglove with this big of a hammer is equivalent to weight lifting? Am I just putting on some more muscle? Certainly, I get the same feeling as when I go do a weight routine at the gym.

Anyway, I'm going to continue and see what happens. I'm also doing the 100 pushup and 200 squat competition.

My starting weight was about 263, and I'm up to 271, but I figure a lot of that is just my regularity and water. It would be freakish to put on 11 pounds of "real" weight in two weeks.

thanks!

Huffdogg

Post by Huffdogg » Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:12 pm

If you're doing Shovelglove with a 20 lb sledge, you're almost certainly putting on muscle weight.