An introduction and a couple of new systems.

An everyday system, TM, is a simple, commonsense solution to an everyday problem, grounded by a pun or metaphor. Propose/discuss new systems here.
rdurbin

An introduction and a couple of new systems.

Post by rdurbin » Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:25 pm

Hi, my name is Reid. I am a web developer from MN. I am currently a beginner with No S, Shovelglove and Weekend Luddite.

So far so good, thanks Reinhard! I appreciate your intelligence, integrity, and your common sense approaches to self-improvement.

Here are a couple of other systems that I am experimenting with.

$20 Bill
------------------------------------
My wife and I each get $20 for each weekday. The weekends work kinda like the No-S diet, they are free days. Our definition of the weekend starts on Sat. not Fri. night.

Here are my findings after trying this system:

- we are way more conscious of our spending
- we eat out a lot less. I can still easily fit in a lunchtime meal with coworkers which is important for me because of the social aspects.
- big purchase now have a built in cooling off period (till the next weekend)
- I don't have to carry a wallet. I am down to my keys and cash, it's nice!
- It doesn't feel painful like a budget. In fact it's kinda challenging to see how we can make the most of our $20.
- We are discovering more things that we can do for free. Right now our library is offering free passes to local museums/attractions/zoos.

Language Lunch
------------------------------------

I spend my lunch learning a language. Currently I am learning Spanish. Mainly I have been walking and listening to Pinsleur on my iPod. I am also starting a conversation/study group with my coworkers.

thanks for listening!
Reid

LoveULife

Post by LoveULife » Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:17 am

thata a very good idea reid....
if we don't carry excess money, we won't eat excess
even i m also going to give myself a chance on this idea