A little support in the early days please!

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Bluebell

A little support in the early days please!

Post by Bluebell » Thu Oct 06, 2016 4:56 pm

Hi all I am new to this (I have a newbie thread with some lovely welcome messages) and I think I need a bit of a talking to from some more experienced No - Sers!
Firstly, I am committed to this, I think it might just help me sort out my poor relationship with food once and for all.
However I have some very bad habits from years of dieting and I am not sure how to undo them. I'll try and list them if you can bear with me!
1) I am used to being very strict in the early days and having a big weight loss. I stupidly got on the scales this morning and felt disheartened to see the same numbers. I have been doing this for one week and I know I am being ridiculous! I know that this is about slow weight loss and addressing eating habits. But I still have that voice whispering 'This will never work!'
2) I am in the very bad habit of mentally totting up my calories each day. I know this is unhelpful. I know its probably not even accurate. But its ingrained in me from years of stupid calorie controlled diets. Aagh! Will this dissapear over time?
3) I am worried about my S days. With the weekend coming up we have a family celebration, I am likely to want to stuff my face! I don't really know if I should just go with it. My family like to provide a massive meal and its hard to be restrained!
4) I so want this to be right, that I'm worrying about it going wrong. My success measurements are usually on the scales and I need to get my head around this being a different kind of success.
OK now I have officially made myself look like a fruit loop, are there any words of advice for me? :oops: