Appetizers? Sweets on N days?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Alexandria27

Appetizers? Sweets on N days?

Post by Alexandria27 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 6:20 pm

Hey guys! This is my first time posting, and I wanted to thank each and every person who remains active and helpful to board members. That type of support goes a long way!

I did however want to get opinions from those who follow vanilla No-S, and ask about what they do when it comes to being out at a restaurant on an N day, and appetizers are ordered for the group/person whom you’re eating with. To me, this is considered "snacking" and possibly "seconds" if you keep going in for those fries or chips and salsa.

Another little issue I've faced is being offered a sweet of one of my favorites on an N day, and it not being available on S days/unable to take and store for later. Has this happened to anyone? Is this a time where I just have to suck it up and keep going or make a mod like "Lifeisablessing" had done, to incorporate sweets 7 days a week if needed?

Let me know what you guys think and your personal opinions/experiences!

oolala53

Post by oolala53 » Mon Apr 24, 2017 8:24 pm

You are going to get lots of different feedback, most likely. If you are just starting out, I recommend being true to Vanilla No S for a few months before you start making changes. The alternative is to wean yourself off the S's in a systematic way, but try not to flip flop.

The way I used to handle appetizers is to take a bit onto a little plate, which was usually provided, but not eat it until the entree came. If anyone said anything, which they usually didn't do, I'd say, "Oh, I'm saving my appetite for the main course, but I'd like a taste of this then." Then I'd change the subject.