New to No S!

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

BurtMacklin

New to No S!

Post by BurtMacklin » Fri May 12, 2017 8:24 pm

Hello All!

I'm a newb here, and I've got a long way to go.

The funny thing is, I started this diet before I had even heard of it. I decided to weigh myself on Monday and was at 271 (Male, by the way). I have gone on several health kicks with varying success, my greatest success has been with South Beach but I was derailed last time by a severe stomach pain problem which may or may not have been caused by the diet. On Monday I basically just came to the realization that I needed to overhaul my relationship with food. If I am ever going to be healthy I have to stop eating as a hobby (literally...if I was asked what my favorite hobby was and I was being brutally honest, it's eating. My other main recreation...watching tv...is also enhanced by eating). It probably comes as no surprise that I have had a weight problem for most of my life...at was at my thinnest in high school while playing football and that was probably between 200 and 210. I haven't been under 200 pounds since I was a freshman.

So as I said, I was on this diet before I had even discovered it online...I just decided that if I was going to be healthy, I needed to eat the amount of food that a healthy person would eat (or my perception of a healthy person's portions). I was so happy to find this website because it essentially puts a form and structure to the goal I had already set in my head. In other aspects of my life I try to apply the principles of minimalism/moderation, and food needs to be a part of that.