New and seeking your opinions

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Lynn47

New and seeking your opinions

Post by Lynn47 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:33 pm

Hello, I am new to No S and hoping to gather some opinions/input from so many of you sucessful long-time No Sers. I have devoured this site, listened to many of the podcasts and read the book. I am SOLD completely on this system, however I have some "real life" issues that may make it difficult for me to stick with the standard 3 meals a day, although I do know the number of meals has not been specified in the book on purpose but not sure if my current meal schedule will lead to weight loss.

Here are my challenges:

I need a little something early in the morning, almost always just fruit, before I go for my walk, but cannot eat a full breakfast that early, and then am hungry for a meal of two eggs and toast or a piece of quiche, about two hours later. I guess this would fall under "virtual plating?" but it is in reality 2 eating events or two morning meals.

Secondly, dinners with my family have become EXTREMELY stressful lately due to some changes in personal family member's circumstances,
and I can barely eat due to the stress of the dinner table moods/conversations, so I have been serving myself a small amount of food, but usually barely touch it most days, just pick at it so I feel I am participating in the meal without everyone questioning why I am not eating. Announcing I am too stressed to eat with them will just elevate everyone else's stress, and I certainly do not want to add to it! So, not eating dinner at all with my family is NOT an option.