Sugar Addiction or habit that can be changed?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Soliadegloria

Sugar Addiction or habit that can be changed?

Post by Soliadegloria » Wed Jan 17, 2018 8:21 pm

Hello, I am fairly new to No S and am really struggling with sugar - I can't get myself back to N days. I desperately want No S to work. I can't diet anymore - the insanity of it and it hasn't worked. I am heavier and more obsessed with food than ever. I read a book called brain over binge and in there I learned that my mind is not broken, diseased or addicted. That I have trained my brain to binge on highly palatable foods and that a habit learned can be unlearned. This is simplifying the book but what I am trying to share is that it gave me hope that I could enjoy food again and loose the weight. I found No S from A website called eat like a normal person. This also was helpful but now I am wondering do I stay the course to free myself from rules/diets/fear of foods or do I surrender to what seems true for me that flour and sugar act like a drug in my body and I'm better off without them…I would appreciate any thoughts. Thank you

oolala53

Post by oolala53 » Wed Jan 17, 2018 11:21 pm

Nearly the whole human race overeats sugar when given the chance. Oh, you can see exceptions. But that's all they are! Exceptions, and damn lucky, too!

I know that book and the site you refer to and there is a lot of possible value there. but use them as addenda to No S. Neither one of them truly understands the ins and outs of habit change that Reinhard does.
'