Affordable Dinner Party Ideas for BIG family?

Talk about anything. Just keep it civil.
Nichole

Affordable Dinner Party Ideas for BIG family?

Post by Nichole » Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:38 pm

So some of you know from other posts that my husband and I just moved into our apartment. I would love to have a Saturday-night dinner with my family so they can see our apartment and just to hang out. However, I have 3 brothers, 2 sisters, plus 4 in-laws and 8, count 'em, EIGHT nieces and nephews, plus my mom, Justin, and I to feed. That is 12 adults and 8 children (ranging from 3-12). An army, practically. Justin talks about not having a housewarming at all b/c it'd be "too expensive." Does anyone have any ideas for an affordable dinner party? I don't really care if it's overprocessed or whatnot. I just need to feed all these people in an affordable way.. and I've never done this before, neither has my hubby. Any ideas?

P.S. I thought about having a pot-luck, but that doesn't feel right...
"Anyone can cook." ~ Chef Gusteau, Ratatouille

navin

Post by navin » Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:18 pm

You could maybe try a mini-Thanksgiving. Whole turkeys aren't that expensive, and are not as intimidating to cook as they may seem. Stuffing is cheap too, and you have flexibility with whatever other vegetables you want to serve.

Another idea might be pasta - it is not that expensive either and is generally pretty easy to make. Some interesting homemade sauce can spice it up (figuratively speaking) nicely, too. Throw in some bread and veggies and you're all set.
Before criticizing someone, you should try walking a mile in their shoes. Then you'll be a mile away and you'll have their shoes.

la_loser

Spaghetti-always a hit!

Post by la_loser » Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:30 pm

I was going to suggest pasta too. You could prepare all but the pasta itself ahead of time. Eight adults isn't a huge number of people and eight little people won't eat much--but everyone loves spaghetti.