I laughed until I cried

Take a sledgehammer and wrap an old sweater around it. This is your "shovelglove." Every week day morning, set a timer for 14 minutes. Use the shovelglove to perform shoveling, butter churning, and wood chopping motions until the timer goes off. Stop. Rest on weekends and holidays. Baffled? Intrigued? Charmed? Discuss here.
Williac

I laughed until I cried

Post by Williac » Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:04 am

I laughed this morning at 5am thinking of pretending to shovel for 14 min.
I laughed as I wrapped a rusty 8 pound splitting maul in a towel and black taped the towel to the handle.
I laughed as I set the 14 min. timer.

Then I stopped laughing!! I was really shocked. About a decade ago I worked as a carpenter and routinely had to use a shovel and a 20 pound sledge. I now have a "lower impact" supervisor's job and still occasionally have to use them. I'm not sure whether it is the time that has passed since I had to do serious manual labor, or the lack of some outside source (stake that is being driven, concrete slab that is being broken up) stopping the head of the sledge at the end of each swing, but wow!!! I am really going to feel this tomorrow. Here is what my routine consists of for now.

2 push ups, then 2 rows from the push up position with each hand.
4 squats swinging the sledge out in front of me for counter balance and a little back work.
8 left/right hand shovels
8 left/right high chops
8 left/right mid level chops
8 left/right low chops
8 left/right overhead chops
8 left/right one handed overhead raises
8 left/right one handed curls
Last edited by Williac on Fri Oct 12, 2012 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

teo

Hi

Post by teo » Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:15 pm

Hi Williac,

Glad there's anyone else around :)

I've also just started shovelgloving this morning (bought the sledgehammer yesterday - I must have been one of the most interesting characters of London's public transport).