Thanks to the No-S

(New!) Read (or post) about people who have stuck with No-S for 10 or more months, lost 10 or more pounds, or 10 or more percent for their starting weight. Periodic updates strongly encouraged -- you can think of it as "Yearly Check In."

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

beggarsall

Thanks to the No-S

Post by beggarsall » Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:15 pm

I am not sure if I have posed anything here yet, but I have read quite a bit. I have used the No-S diet since August, when I found the book on a free book cart in a bookstore in Mass. Our van had broken down in Boxborough on the way to a family camping trip in Maine.

Amazingly, I actually enjoyed reading a dieting book. It was well-written, often funny, and seemed rooted in common sense. Since I work in the Liberal Arts as a teacher, I also began to notice that what this system seemed to encourage is a chief goal of the Liberal Arts: virtue. Reinhard's book seemed to encourage the cardinal virtues of temperance and prudence, and as a result, his system also had more utilitarian results: weight loss and healthier life. And every time I read passages to my very slim, health conscious Austrian wife, she told me that she had been trying to tell me the same things for 20 years. This, too, was a good sign.

Reinhard's approach seemed to give a voice to our non-obese ancestors -- he gave a "vote" to the dead and listened to what they had to teach us about diet and living. He listened to the voice of tradition: "Tradition means giving votes to the most obscure of all classes, our ancestors. It is the democracy of the dead. Tradition refuses to submit to the small and arrogant oligarchy of those who merely happen to be walking about." -G.K. Chesterton