Newbie here! My story...

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Rollo

Newbie here! My story...

Post by Rollo » Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:55 pm

Hello Everyone,

I've been going through diet hell for the last 3 months, since I quit smoking. Gained more than 15 lbs since that, mostly I believe from hormonal & metabolic issues that came about with the shock to the system of quitting. (I'm 54 years old...) I've been trying to manage the weight issue for the last 6 weeks but the pounds keep coming on, even though I've been eating less and exercising more. I've done a lot of low carbing in my day and it used to work for me. (Pasta, bread, potatoes, & sweets have been a rarity in my house for years..) But it sure isn't working right now. I was desperately looking for something different that might actually work for me. Found the No S site and was totally inspired reading Reinhard's philosophies. They make so much sense! (And I LOVE the way you write!)

Eating and snacking in the evenings have always been my nemesis, and I've known that it should ALL be cut out for a long time. But the snacking temptations would always be there (even though I had no junk food around I would end up eating SOMETHING.)

As I mentioned I recently quit smoking; I did it with the aid of a fantastic message board community. Been looking for a good community to join on the weight loss front. I feel like I may have found both a good way of eating and a good support group at the same time. I feel energized already! I need to lose about 30-35 lbs, but my first goal will be to get rid of the 15 I gained when I quit smoking. This program sounds SO DOABLE! :D
Rollo

gratefuldeb67

Post by gratefuldeb67 » Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:09 pm