"Old-Fashioned" vs. "Quick Oats"

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

brotherjohn

Post by brotherjohn » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:36 pm

I have gleaned that there are several "oatmeal eaters" on this board. Since my visits with the cardiologist, I have begun eating oatmeal as my default breakfast. It's cheap, it's fast, it's good for you, and it stays with you.

I have done something I have never done before in my life. I bought a box of Quaker Oats, and have (over a series of breakfasts) finished off the entire box my myself! The box I just ate was "Quick Oats", the kind that cook in 1 minutes.

This morning, I started a box of "Old-Fashioned." They take 5 minutes to cook. They are a little chewier than than the 1-minute oats.

Here are my questions:

1. Are there any health benefits to the "Old-Fashioned" vs. the "Quick Oats"?

2. Does anybody here ever eat their oats uncooked? Does it cause any stomach problems?

3. What kind of oats do you eat, and what do you put in them?

I look forward to the ensuing banter.... :)
John
"Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand." --St. Paul

Read my free weekly devotional rural adventures at:

www.countrypreacherdad.com

MysteryLover

Post by MysteryLover » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:44 pm

Can't answer your specific questions brotherjohn, but I'll give you my unwanted opinion. I like the chewiness of the old fashioned oats over the texture of the quick oats. And I seem to remember from the No S book that Reinhart only puts some hot water over his oats, so I guess that would make them semi-cooked (and he's still alive and well).
--Gina (a.k.a MysteryLover)
03/01/2017: 195.2
Current: 174.6
Goal: 145.0

MysteryLover

Post by MysteryLover » Fri Apr 03, 2009 1:47 pm

oops - I meant "Reinhard".
--Gina (a.k.a MysteryLover)
03/01/2017: 195.2