It Happens Every Noon

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

wosnes

It Happens Every Noon

Post by wosnes » Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:06 pm

Interesting short film about the School Lunch Program in the 1960s.

Look at the people -- the children and the adults. With the exception of one boy towards the end, no one is overweight -- and that boy isn't very heavy by today's standards. Another interesting thing: no kid food.

I graduated from high school at the end of the 1960s and well remember the school lunch program. I don't remember much about the food except that it wasn't exceptional. It's where I learned to hate cooked cabbage (took me over 35 years to give it another try).
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

"You are what you eat -- so don't be Fast, Easy, Cheap or Fake."

Elspeth

Post by Elspeth » Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:48 pm

Interesting film and good point about the normal body weights of the vast majority of children and adults featured in it. I graduated from high school about ten years after you did, and I can only remember a few very overweight kids in my class.

I was also struck by how tiny the portion of cake for dessert was. Today, each piece would be at least double the size!

marygrace

Post by marygrace » Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:54 pm