How often should I weight myself?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

AnneK

How often should I weight myself?

Post by AnneK » Sun Oct 17, 2010 10:31 am

I am just getting started on this. Any advice on how often I should weigh myself--I understand the loss will be slow, so I don't want to get discouraged. On the other hand, I feel like its important to sort of monitor the situation.

Also, if you were going to weigh yourself, say, once a week, should it be on Monday morning, after the two 'S' days, or Saturday morning, after a week of 'N' days?

Gracias!
5'7"
Starting weight Oct 16 2010: 156
Current weight Nov 13 2010: 153

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Sun Oct 17, 2010 12:31 pm

I'd say don't weigh more often than monthly. It doesn't matter when you weigh yourself as long as you're consistent, because you're looking at trends.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

"You are what you eat -- so don't be Fast, Easy, Cheap or Fake."

sophiasapientia

Post by sophiasapientia » Sun Oct 17, 2010 1:44 pm

It really depends on what feels right for you. Some folks have difficult histories with the scale and do best to weigh themselves infrequently, like once a month. Others prefer to check-in daily or weekly so that they can become tuned in with normal body fluctuations, nip any potential problems in the bud, etc. I weigh myself near daily and graph my weight.