What do you count as special days

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

serenity88

What do you count as special days

Post by serenity88 » Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:53 pm

I am relatively new to No S and have been wondering all day about whether or not to count today as a Special Day. Once a year I attend a graduation dinner at my place of employment. It's not my graduation, nor a family members. It is a celebratory atmosphere. So I have been thinking about whether or not I would have dessert. I have also thought about counting tonight as an S event and having tomorrow be an N day.

How do you long timers handle these things? How special does a day have to be to call it special?
Thanks for your input

Clarica

Re: What do you count as special days

Post by Clarica » Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:07 pm

serenity88 wrote:How do you long timers handle these things? How special does a day have to be to call it special?
Thanks for your input
Don't worry about knowing if a day is special or not right away. If I know in my heart it's a celebration, it's a celebration. Sometimes my heart shifts a little towards my stomach, I'm sure, but early on just getting the habit to be automatic on n-days is what the work is.

For me, parties at work aren't usually something I would be celebrating. But once or twice a year they are.

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:21 pm

Someone here had a whole set of rules to help determine if an event was "special." As I recall, they're good, but too complicated for me. Here's my basic rule: if I make plans for an event, it's special. Also, special events don't occur frequently. If this happened weekly or monthly I'd question its "specialness." But once a year? It's special.