Timing of meals - how important?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

sheepish

Timing of meals - how important?

Post by sheepish » Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:09 am

I was thinking about habits and such yesterday and, as a result, I have a question: how important is it for the meal habit to stick for meals to be eaten at roughly the same time every day?

To put this into context, I'm a PhD student, I work from home and set my own hours. Because I'm a night owl, these tend to be all over the place. I've only just started No S and my intention was just to evenly space my meals over the time I am awake without worrying too much about what time that would make them fall at - e.g. yesterday I had lunch at 11.30 and dinner at 5.30, today I will probably have more 'normal' hours with lunch at about 1 and dinner at about 7.

Will this make forming a habit more difficult or not? What are other people's experience with this?

carolejo

Post by carolejo » Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:04 am

I can't speak directly from experience, but I imagine it will make it harder to form habits.

However, the major habit you need to form is just "mealing" rather than snacking. You could try eating your meals when you are hungry, but putting a limit on, of, say "I will always leave at least 5 hours between one meal and the next".

What's your Ph.D in? I finished mine about 4 years ago, it's in Polymer Physics.

C.
CaroleJo

gratefuldeb67

Post by gratefuldeb67 » Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:43 pm

I don't think anyone is the same on any given day..
Sometimes I am not hungry till 11 am so that's when I eat breakfast..
Other times I have an appointment and know that I will be better off if I don't work on an empty stomach so those days I'll have a small breakfast..