Baking as a hobby and S days

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Imogen Morley

Baking as a hobby and S days

Post by Imogen Morley » Mon Aug 08, 2011 6:26 am

I'm an avid baker. I love trying out new recipes, and every weekend I bake something I've never had before. Most of the time, the recipes live up to my expectations, which - from my point of view - can be a problem :lol: I mindfully eat one piece of cheesecake, feel totally satisfied for about an hour, then I inevitably reach for another. Rinse and repeat.
I'd like to hear your tips and suggestions on how to enjoy a baking hobby and S days without going overboard. Do you know how to scale recipes down to make only a couple of portions? Does freezing leftovers work for you? (For me, a freezer loaded with yummy treats is not safe to be around on N days). How to tackle the temptation? And why, on earth, mindful eating works for up to an hour, and then I'm plagued with more cravings?! :roll:

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Mon Aug 08, 2011 8:31 am

I've successfully cut some recipes by a third or half.

Check out Small-Batch Baking and Small-Batch Baking for Chocolate Lovers. Not only are there recipes, but also advice for dividing ingredients like eggs and what equipment you'll need for baking. Most recipes make 2 servings.

Also check Small Batch Bistro by the same author. It's not just baked goods, but there are some among the recipes.

I think the cravings come because there's more available. If you have one or two cupcakes, one or two cupcakes will definitely satisfy the cravings. If you have a dozen, it will take the entire dozen to be satisfied.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson