No Success

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

fishbike

No Success

Post by fishbike » Tue Feb 14, 2012 9:49 am

I have been doing No S since November 2011 and have had no success. I follow the rules to the letter (pun intended), but I have not been exercising. I weighed 192 when I started and I still weigh 192. Help!
Fbike

wosnes

Post by wosnes » Tue Feb 14, 2012 11:26 am

Well, you have been successful: 1)you're mastering the habits and, 2) you didn't gain weight. Two big successes!

You need to look at what and how much you're eating. It is possible to consume too many calories while sticking to one plate at each meal.

Exercise is important, but you don't need to go crazy with it, either. You just need to find ways to move more throughout the day. It can be almost anything -- just move. We've eliminated a lot of movement from our lives with convenience.
"That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do. Not that the nature of the thing itself has changed but our power to do it is increased." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

"You are what you eat -- so don't be Fast, Easy, Cheap or Fake."

reinhard
Site Admin

Post by reinhard » Tue Feb 14, 2012 2:52 pm

As wosnes said, maintenance is success. The status quo for most people these days is gaining.

That being said, losing would be nice.

And I think you're in a great position for that, since there's a really obvious next step: add some moderate, regular exercise. You need it anyway. And if your diet is painlessly keeping weight gain in check, it won't take much from the exercise end to push you into negative territory. Much better to make two moderate efforts from both directions than an extreme effort from just one. It's healthier, easier, and actually enjoyable.