New to this and nervous

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Goodcooker

New to this and nervous

Post by Goodcooker » Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:30 pm

Hi all. Newbie here but I am not a newbie to diets. Four years ago I quit smoking and gained 20 pounds. I was 10 pounds too heavy to begin with. Went to Weight Watchers. Well...that was a bust. I love to cook and love sugar. Love salt and snacks. I always had seconds when I ate a meal. Hey! I am a good cook. :D But I still needed to lose 30 pounds. Picked up the Atkins book. Ate less than 50 grams of carbs per day, gave up sugar, gave up starches so I could lose 10 pounds in a YEAR!?? I mean come on! Why only 10 pounds? I'll tell you why. It's because I would finally break down and eat a friggin apple, or have an orange, and yes have a piece of cake or pie once in a while. Geez I didn't binge though. However, even though I was eating low carb I was eating ALOT of food and snacking on nuts and cheese all day. I had a 70 year old woman tell me about this book. How she lost 14 pounds following it. Hey...I love to read so I picked it up. I am 3 days into eating this way but I am SO nervous. I actually ate a slice of bread with my scambled eggs today. Yesterday I had a bowl of oatmeal. I almost cried with relief! I make sure if I have a slice of bread it is on the plate. I had sweet potato the other night for the first time in a year! I can eat buttercup squash again? I still need to lose 20 pounds but I am not in any hurry. All I have is time. I want this to work SO bad. You mean I can bake an apple crisp this weekend? I am not snacking at all between meals. I do notice my stomach growling like crazy when I go to bed. Never did this before. I don't really feel hungry though. I will be posting many questions and asking for advice I am sure.