Gotta ask "Why?"

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Donnadolittlemore

Gotta ask "Why?"

Post by Donnadolittlemore » Wed Nov 13, 2013 1:48 pm

So I am fairly new to this diet plan. I actually do see it as a new way of living rather than a diet. As I go about my day the one rule that is most challenging and enlightening is the No Snacks rule. Every time I want a snack I know I can't have it. I am forced to ask myself why I want the snack and is there another way to replace the need to eat. 99% I am not truly hungry.

Yesterday is a perfect example. I desperately wanted chocolate for a snack. I knew I was not really hungry. I took a moment and realized I wanted it because I felt very tired and was hoping for a boost of energy. The other day my daughters were arguing and I suddenly had a strong urge to stick my head in a bag of chips. In both cases I had to look for another way to make myself feel better. I could go on and on with examples.

This is the first diet that has forced me to truly look at my snacking habit and try to figure out what was driving me to mindlessly snack. It sounds so simple and easy to remedy. However, in the moment and with many years of using food to cope it is far from easy. I never allowed myself to realize how big a role food plays in my life. Why??

jw

Post by jw » Wed Nov 13, 2013 2:04 pm

Well, drinking and smoking have become unacceptable! LOL :lol:
Food has become the go-to solution to all kinds of problems, in the way people used to have a drink or a cigarette to calm down, settle the nerves, take a break -- whatever.

All of those things mask the thing we wish would go away (the tiredness, the wrangling kids, boredom, irritation, whatever!) in a socially acceptable way.