4 months in, first time post, a few silly questions

Take a sledgehammer and wrap an old sweater around it. This is your "shovelglove." Every week day morning, set a timer for 14 minutes. Use the shovelglove to perform shoveling, butter churning, and wood chopping motions until the timer goes off. Stop. Rest on weekends and holidays. Baffled? Intrigued? Charmed? Discuss here.
unKle

4 months in, first time post, a few silly questions

Post by unKle » Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:55 am

Well, I decided it was about time to actually post on the forums since I've been tossing a sledge around for over 4 months now.

Overall, it has been a great experience. I definitely notice the improvements in strength and I can see the improved definition in my arms. Like some, I don't really feel much of an abs workout but I know my core is getting hit when I exercise. I started with a 10 pounder and I took it easy for the first month; I wanted to get the movements down right and make sure I didn't tweak anything. Now I need to upgrade to a 12 pounder, and soon. I don't even have any soreness at all after a full 21 routine.

So a few silly questions. First off, I know doing weights 5x a week is frowned on, and we might even get 'better results' if it was toned down to 3x a week. I'm wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this. Personally I find I am kind of addicted to throwing the sledge around for a routine, and sometimes even do it 6x a week. I guess I'd rather build the habit long term.

Second, how often to people mix up their routine? I've been throwing one of the other routines into the mix every once and awhile, and also considering randomizing the order of moves.

Well I can't think of anything else for now. It has been a good four months. I was at Home Depot today and I even tested a 16 pounder.. (they didn't have 12s), and honestly it felt pretty light. Not that I will do that jump.. 12 pounds should last for another 4 months I hope!

unkle

Kevin

Jump?