Shugging, DOMS, and other exercise plans

Take a sledgehammer and wrap an old sweater around it. This is your "shovelglove." Every week day morning, set a timer for 14 minutes. Use the shovelglove to perform shoveling, butter churning, and wood chopping motions until the timer goes off. Stop. Rest on weekends and holidays. Baffled? Intrigued? Charmed? Discuss here.
MisterBibs

Shugging, DOMS, and other exercise plans

Post by MisterBibs » Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:53 am

Hello,

I've been shovel-gloving for about 1-2 months now, and I figure I'd ask about an issue I've been having that occasionally wrecks my plans for shugging.

See, aside from shugging, I also do a three-times a week weight lifting regimen. Nothing fancy, just some weights.

The problem is that, from what I've learned, one should rest their body for at least a day for the body to repair the microtrauma to one's muscles.

Plus, when I shug on "days off", its hard for me to do all the motions as effectively / safely as I like.

Thus, am I overtraining if I shug every day? Combined with this knowledge (and Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness), its remarkably easy for me to justify either not doing the weights or the shugging, which breeds complacency.

Thanks for any help. Shugging is definately a fun little hobby.
The human wheel is {?could be}
a metaphor for S'pht {?time};
(circumstances are cyclical)
The Eleventh Clan will return.
You must go to them.

phayze

Post by phayze » Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:12 am

Well, I'm certainly no fitness expert, but I read a lot and from what I understand "recovery time" doesn't necessarily mean no exercise at all. For instance, if your using your weight days for heavy lifts, then it would be good for recovery to use SG as a cardio or endurance workout in between weight sessions. Basically, your using the muscles and nerves differently, so you're healing from the heavy lifting while working a different strength quality.