Trouble getting started--establishing a routine

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Mander

Trouble getting started--establishing a routine

Post by Mander » Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:29 am

Hello, I'm new to this whole thing, but it seems like it might be a useful approach. I've been thinking about "doing" No S for a while now but I'm having a tough time with it. I just can't seem to stick to a plan or a routine in general, but especially with meals.

I work at home, and my days are almost all free-form. Once I've helped my husband get off to work, I don't have a set rhythm for the rest of the day. Normally I eat very small meals or snacks whenever I get hungry, but I hardly ever sit down to a designated lunch or breakfast. Most days we don't get around to having dinner until midnight, because my husband says he's not hungry until then. It often makes me feel that I am abnormally greedy to be hungry in the evening, especially since I'm the obese one and he is normal weight, with only the slightest of paunches. Anyway, I end up grazing all day, instead of eating real meals, especially around 6pm when I am usually hungry for dinner but I know that I won't be getting it for another 5 or 6 hours.

In trying to adopt the No-S diet, I have found it difficult to decide what is a "meal". I think the first thing to do is to change this pattern of all-day grazing and adopt a normal time to eat, but I'm finding it really difficult to do. Are there any handy tricks that others have found useful for tackling this kind of problem? It just seems so overwhelming, I've had a hard time doing anything about it.

Thanks.

Cassie

Post by Cassie » Tue Jun 15, 2010 12:17 pm

Hi mander & welcome to NoS.