Ghosts of No-S Past, Present and Future

(New!) Read (or post) about people who have stuck with No-S for 10 or more months, lost 10 or more pounds, or 10 or more percent for their starting weight. Periodic updates strongly encouraged -- you can think of it as "Yearly Check In."

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

navin

Ghosts of No-S Past, Present and Future

Post by navin » Sat Jan 09, 2010 4:29 am

Warning: sort of long-ish. I'm making up for not having posted in a long time. :-)

No-S Past
I've been doing this No-S thing for several years now, even before this board existed. I started a fat slob who ate too many sweets, didn't exercise much, and had low self confidence. I'm about 5'8, and had just topped 200 lbs. And no, it wasn't muscle.

I had been able to lose modest amounts of weight by either exercising more, or eating less sweets, but never really found anything that stuck for very long. After a serendipitous meeting with somebody who knew about No-S in its earliest days, I decided to give it a try.

After about 2.5 years, I had lost well over 20 lbs and made the testimonial page. Other areas of my health were better too - cholesterol and blood pressure were under control, and I was finally able to run a 5K.

No-S Present
I'm still doing No-S. Overall, my compliance has been about 85-90%. The occasional spontaneously-brought-into-the-office homemade treat usually gets me, but otherwise I generally do fine.

The results afterward have been interesting. I have gained some of that weight back - somewhere around 15 lbs, depending on the day. However everything else is still going great, if not better. Blood pressure and cholesterol are the lowest they've ever been. I can still run a 5K, and even ran a 10K last year (though my body may never forgive me for it!)

No-S Future
I'm in-between pant sizes, so I have to make a decision to try and lose some weight again (or just give in and gain some more. But I'm not going to do that, well on purpose at least.)