How important is it to weigh yourself?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

jcourtney

How important is it to weigh yourself?

Post by jcourtney » Wed Jul 29, 2015 2:42 pm

Okay, so I need some advice. I've been doing No S (again) for about 2 months now after spending 3 years unsuccessfully flip flopping between WW, IF, and No S trying to lose the 70-80 I gained when I was pregnant and on Mat leave. So after all these years of weighing in weekly, if not daily, I have not stepped on the scale in 7 weeks. I feel like I'm doing really well, I'm establishing some good habits, I've only had 1 red day this month, so I kinda want to know if I've lost any weight. But, honestly, I'm scared to look. I'm so worried that if I haven't lost any weight that will derail all the good habits I've formed and send me back to wanting to count calories and points and restrict my S days (which are calming down but are far from calm). So I'm torn between wanting to know if I'm doing well and being worried that I'm not.

Do you all weigh in regularly? I always thought that I would weigh in monthly on NoS but what if I'm not ready yet? Will I ever be "ready"? Should I just do it and face reality? My weight it what it is whether I know it or not. I'm just worried about playing the head game of stepping on the scale.

Didee

Post by Didee » Wed Jul 29, 2015 4:02 pm

Hi jcourtney I really do understand you dilemma regarding weighing yourself. I personally will not step on the scales, instead I prefer to monitor myself on how I feel and how my clothes fit.

I can feel really good and positive but if the number on the scales doesn't correlate I end up feeling a complete failure, having experienced this on so many occasions I finally got rid of the scales.