S day discovery this weekend....

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

vmsurbat

S day discovery this weekend....

Post by vmsurbat » Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:14 pm

I've been NoSing pretty successfully for a little over 7 months. By successfully, I mean that I have managed to stay (mostly) on habit and managed to lose a modest amount of weight.

However, like many others, I haven't been so satisfied with my S days--weekends, not special days. It seemed that every Sunday night I was going to bed feeling full and bloated, not sleeping well, waking up NOT hungry on Monday. (I've gotten to appreciate that "I am just hungry enough to really enjoy this next meal" feeling and didn't like missing it on Monday mornings). It didn't *seem* as though I was overdoing anything on my S days--no scarfing entire bags of chips or eating enormous quantities of food, and I was generally puzzled as to what I was doing "wrong" with my freedom on S days.

This weekend I had that "aha!" moment when I figured out what was contributing to my less-than-successful S days--I can't have seconds! I've gotten so that one reasonable plate truly satisfies me and when I reach for seconds, even a small amount (ie. one tiny cookie, spoonful of potatoes, etc.) tips the balance and I feel uncomfortably full. (And I am one who, preNoS, managed seconds and thirds of the things I liked most).

I put my idea into practice yesterday, enjoyed three great meals, a wonderful dessert, and then NO MORE. It was so refreshing to wake up today feeling ready for breakfast.

So, those Nday habits truly do start to influence S day behaviors--I am no longer going to be tempted by seconds "just because I can" because the consequences are *not* fun.

HTH
Vicki in MNE
7! Yrs. with Vanilla NoS, down 55+lb, happily maintaining and still loving it!