Brand new and after advice...

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Sophie

Brand new and after advice...

Post by Sophie » Sun May 03, 2009 9:47 am

I'm a first year student in a catered hostel and I'm really worried about putting on the 'first-year five.' Although I'm not overweight, I'm not as thin as I'd like to be! I've struggled with my image and the scales over the years, generally moving between chubby and complacent to thin and unhappy. And I'm sick of it! Food has ruled my life the last couple of years yet I have only really gained weight.
I'm currently about 62kg and 170 cm (136 lbs and 5'7 I think that works out to be??) but I want to lose about five kgs. Nothing too drastic!
As well as follow the No S's, I plan on going to the gym about 3-4 times a week til I get there.
I'm just wondering if anyone else is in a similar situation to me? And if this diet worked for them? Just any help at all would be appreciated!

Blithe Morning

Post by Blithe Morning » Sun May 03, 2009 12:52 pm

A couple of thoughts:

Your weight and height sound fine. I rather doubt you are chubby but merely comparing yourself to an unrealistic standard.

Exercise isn't something to do be done until you reach a goal. It's lifetime habit. The benefits of exercise go way past weight loss/management.

NO S will help keep away the freshman fifteen (that's what we called it in the US) but even more importantly, it will set you up with good eating habits and healthy attitude towards food and body image. Since I am assuming you are young (under 25), this means avoiding many many hours of agnst, self disgust and loathing, rollercoaster emotions based on a the numbers of a scale, and time and energy lost to due to obsessive thinking about food/eating/etc.