Academic philosopher on snacking and moderation

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

Bookman Old Style

Academic philosopher on snacking and moderation

Post by Bookman Old Style » Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:33 pm

Hi all,
My first post here, though I've been lurking (and no-s-ing) for about two months. It's going well, by the way- I'm a 5'11" man, down 16 pounds from 263 to 247. I've been lifting weights fairly seriously during that time, so that weight loss may include a few pounds of added muscle.

I'm an academic librarian and former bookseller (hence my screen name), and came across the following discussion of "satisficing." Satisficing, according to Wikipedia, is a concept used in economics and choice theory, meaning "a decision-making strategy that attempts to meet criteria for adequacy, rather than to identify an optimal solution." In other words, sometimes "good enough" is fine. The following excerpt is long, and I'm not sure I buy his argument, but given his use of snacking as an example, I thought it might be of interest to some.

From: Beyond optimizing By Michael A. Slote (Harvard University Press, 1989, pg. 10-11).