How is this diet for P90X and swimming?

No Snacks, no sweets, no seconds. Except on Days that start with S. Too simple for you? Simple is why it works. Look here for questions, introductions, support, success stories.

Moderators: Soprano, automatedeating

pepper

How is this diet for P90X and swimming?

Post by pepper » Sun Jun 06, 2010 8:02 am

Hey y'all,
I just wanted to run by you what I eat usually and ask how it is relative to what I'm trying to do, which is improving upon my swimmer's body. I used to swim regularly(1mi ~30mins). Haven't gotten back into the pool in a while but I'm currently doing P90X right now. I'm a total beginner when it comes to training so I decided it was best for me to pick up a program that was ready-to-go. I've modified it slightly to suit my needs. Anyhow, here's my diet:

I eat no more than 1 plate of food a meal(usually a bowl because I eat rice).

This is the norm:
Breakfast:
-1 glass of water
-1 cup of granola/healthy cereal with what I assume to be an equal amount of 1% milk
-Occasionally I'll add a fruit

Lunch:
-Glass of Water
-The bowl equivalent of a 12" plate. In it I eat rice and some thing that is either seafood, lean chicken, or veggie-soup
-handful of nuts when I can

Dinner:
-Same as lunch but with fruit

-Veggies usually is spinach or romaine lettuce that I eat plan to avoid dressing but man, spinach plain is terrible.
I'm very much on eating healthy(mainly for longevity).
Two things to note:
-I've been having trouble controlling portions recently, I'll usually eat another 1/4 bowl
-I've been replacing half of my WHITE rice with whole wheat bread. So 2 slices of bread, and 1 full bowl(not to the brim)
-I tried eating brown rice but it doesn't taste the best. Recently I bought a bag and am trying to slowly integrate it into my meals.
-I tried eating smaller meals more frequently but that did not go well. I have trouble with eating until I'm satiated.